Skip to content

History of Let’s Make Games

Former (but still loved) committee members:

  • Nick Lowe, Founder
  • Minh Tran, Founder
  • Richard Kong, Original Secretary
  • Anthony Sweet, Original Treasurer & Operations Manager
  • Ben Hammersley, Photographer/Videographer
  • Chris McCormick
  • Dan Eichling
  • John Parker, Chair (2016-2018)
  • Brad Power, Secretary (2016-2019)
  • Ben Curran, Chair (2018)
  • Wesley Lamont, OCM
  • Kitty Byrne, Vice Chair (2016-2019)
  • Kimberley Larking, Vice Chair (2019-2020)
  • Brett Cullen
  • Nick Haslam
  • Imogen Kaal (2018-2020)
  • Brendan Ragan, Treasurer (-2020)
  • Jetha Chan
  • Grae Saunders, Chair
  • Jordan Russel, Secretary, Vice Chair
  • Jacob Kreck, Secretary
  • Mark Thompson, OCM
  • Matt Dyet, Chair, OCM

Looking back to 2009

The History of Let’s Make Games

Originally started by Nick Lowe and Minh Tran (members of local community group, OneTwenty) in early 2009, Let’s Make Games grew to a four person operation with the addition of Anthony Sweet and Dan Eichling (who has since moved to the United States) in mid-2009. The following year, Richard Kong and Ben Hammersley joined as official videographers and Chris McCormick also came onboard as Let’s Make Games formed a close relationship with the Perth Independent Game Makers’ Initiative (PIGMI). Richard later went on to join the LMG Committee, taking on the role of Secretary.

Then in May 2011, Let’s Make Games set to become an official Incorporated organisation! As Let’s Make Games Inc., the organisation continued to support the local community with annual showcases and developer events…

2011 Newspaper clipping that reads "Advertisement of intended application for incorporation of Let's Make Games Inc.

2013 – 2015

Following the 2013 games showcase, Jess Watson joined the General Operations team alongside Anthony, to assist with events and write news content for the site. To further celebrate the games and developers of our fine state, the annual showcase became the Perth Games Festival in 2014. This initiative, coordinated by Anthony Sweet, acts to share locally-made games and give the wider community an opportunity to  connect with WA developers. In 2015, Anthony scaled back his role with Let’s Make Games, and Jon Hayward (a developer who has provided support to LMG and the game dev community for many years) stepped into the General Operations team.

2016 Committee (from left to right): Jon, John, Wes, Kitty, Brendan, Brad & Jess
2016 Committee (from left to right): Jon, John, Wes, Kitty, Brendan, Brad & Jess

2016 – 2018

Early in 2016 founders Nick and Minh, alongside Secretary Richard, stepped down from their positions in the Committee after many years of service to the Western Australian game dev community. The new members, unanimously voted in by existing members, were John Parker (Chair), Kitty Byrne (Vice Chair), Brendan Ragan (Treasurer), Brad Power (Secretary). Additional Ordinary Committee Member roles were also voted in unanimously, with Jess Watson and Jon Hayward of the General Operations Team, and Wesley Lamont joining.

In the years that followed, the committee expanded further with Kimberly Larking and Brett Cullen joining the team as Ordinary Committee Members. In 2018, John Parker wrapped up his role as Chair and Ben Curran, who had long been with LMG in the form of the Perth Games Festival Volunteers Coordinator, joined to support the organisation as it transitioned. At the beginning of 2019, Ben wound back his involvement and Kitty stepped in as the temporary Chair to lead the organisation to it’s next committee meeting.

2019 – 2020

In the latest committee arrangement, several community members has come forward to further their involvement with Let’s Make Games. Matt Dyet has taken on the role of Chair, Kimberly Larking as Vice Chair, and Rin McBeath as Secretary. Imogen Kaal, Mark Thompson and Nick Haslam have also come on board as Ordinary Committee Members.


In 2020 the committee went through substantial change with Matt, Kimberley and Brendan stepping away from the executive roles. Grae Saunders took over as the Chair and Rin McBeath stepped up to Vice Chair. Jadie Tothill joined the committee as Secretary along with Matthew Lisson as Treasurer. Mark remained as an Ordinary committee member and was joined by Colton Onderwater and Sofie Mather. With the new committee came a new focus on the running of events in WA giving more opportunities for developers to showcase their talents.


The 2021 AGM saw some minor changes in the committee with Matt Lisson and Jadie Tothill stepping away from the roles of Treasurer and Secretary. Sofie Mathers also stepped away as an ordinary committee member. The committee welcome the new Treasurer in Iluka Silversmith and the new Secretary Jordan Russell. Grae and Rin carried on as Chair and Vice Chair, as did Colton and Mark continue on as ordinary committee members.